Bhupendra Patel Sworn in as 17th Gujarat CM

As Vijay Rupani resigned from the post of Chief Minister of Gujarat, Bhupendra Patel is the new name on behalf of Bharatiya Janata Party.

In an unexpected move that came in on Saturday, Vijay Rupani resigned from the position of Gujarat Chief Minister, the Bharatiya Janata Party named Bhupendra Patel as the new Gujarat Chief Minister.

Bhupendra Patel, a senior leader is also a protege of former Chief Minister Anandiben Patel -- is to succeed Vijay Rupani as the Chief Minister of Gujarat. While he was elected the leader of the legislature party after a meeting, it is believed that he was the choice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Minister Amit Shah.

The major movement came ahead of elections in Gujarat due next year, with the announcement of Patel to be the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat

Patel who is the MLA from the Ghatlodia which was earlier held by Anandiben Patel appeared as a surprise candidate for the post. Patel was part of the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and the Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority. The new Chief Minister will be sworn in this afternoon.

Ahead of the legislature party meeting, the names of two Union Ministers from Gujarat -- Mansukh Mandaviya and Parshottam Rupala -- the controversial Lakshadweep administrator Praful Khoda Patel, and state agriculture minister RC Faldu were doing the rounds.

Ex-Chief Minister Vijay Rupani stepped down on Saturday-- 15 months ahead of the state elections -- in a surprise move amid whispers that his handling of the second wave of Covid and his style of functioning had upset the Central leadership.