3 Andhra Pradesh Cities awarded 'Water Plus Certification' by MoHUA awards

Three Cities of Andhra Pradesh, namely, Visakhapatnam, Tirupathi Municipal Corporation, and Vijayawada Municipal Corporation have been awarded the tag.

In a major development, the Union Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA)  shortlisted a total of 9 cities across the country for Water Plus Certification, which is awarded under Swachh Bharat Mission and Swachh Survekshan assessment. Out of these 9 cities shortlisted and awarded,  three cities are of Andhra Pradesh.

the Chief Minister's Office in the state issued a statement that reads: "With this, Andhra Pradesh becomes the only state in India to have more than one Water Plus city. The certified municipal corporations are Tirupati Municipal Corporation, Vijayawada Municipal Corporation and Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation (GVMC),” 

The statement from the CMO said that according to the MoHUA’s outlined guidelines, the Water Plus certification is given to cities that have already achieved Open Defecation Free (ODF) or ODF+/ODF++ statuses.

“A Municipal Corporation can be certified as water plus provided the treatment and management of liquid waste from households, commercial establishment drains, sewer etc. is done at a satisfactory level, considering the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) norms, ahead of releasing the treated wastewater to the environment. Also, wastewater/sewage treatment facilities should be adequate and regularly maintained along with cost recovery through reuse and recycling of treated wastewater,” added the statement.