Jharkhand Government rejigs 31 IAS, 8 IPS amidst administrative paucity

Meanwhile, the state government has requested the Centre to allocate minimum 10 IPS officers selected through Civil Services Examination 2020 to the state cadre owing to a shortage of IPS officers.

In a major bureaucratic move, the Jharkhand government announced a reshuffle of as many as 31 IAS and 8 IPS officers, amidst a severe administrative crunch.

The Jharkhand Police Headquarters passed the proposal which has been cleared by Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren. Currently,  19 districts out of 24 in the state are extremist-hit. “In view of the shortage of officers of the Indian Police Service in the state, Chief Minister Hemant Soren has approved a proposal for requesting Union Ministry of Home Affairs to allot 10 (ten) IPS officers selected through the Civil Services Examination, 2020 to the Jharkhand cadre,” the Chief Minister's Office mentioned in a statement.

However, the top announcements of IPS officers by the state government include senior officers Sanjay Anand Lathkar, who has been named the new additional director general (operation). 

According to the state home department notification, SSP (Dhanabd) Asim Vikrant Minz has been posted as DIG (Kolhan range) while DIG (homeguards) Narendra Kumar Singh is transferred as DIG (Hazaribag range) and DIG (Kolhan range) Rajiv Ranjan Singh will be new DIG (Jharkhand Armed Police).

Further DIG (Rail) Shailendra Kumar Sinha has also been transferred as DIG (anti-corruption bureau, ACB) and DIG (budget) Patel Mayur Kanhaiyyalal has been posted as DIG (Bokaro range). SP (Palamu) Sanjiv Kumar will now be SSP (Dhanbad) and SP (ACB) Chandan Kumar Sinha has been posted as SP (Palamu), the notification said.

Meanwhile, among the top IAS officers transferred also include the deputy commissioners of Dumka, Bokaro, Dhanbad, Koderma, Ramgarh, Chatra and Pakur.

According to the Department of Personnel notification, while Ramgarh deputy commissioner Sandeep Singh will be new deputy commissioner of Dhanbad, Kuldeep Choudhary, deputy commissioner, Pakur has been moved out as deputy commissioner Bokaro.

Apart from these, MNREGA commissioner Varun Ranjan has been named the new deputy commissioner of Pakur. While senior IAS officer Madhavi Mishra is named new Municipal Commissioner of Hazaribagh Municipal Corporation; Ravi Shankar Shukla has been made Dumka’s deputy commissioner.