Amita Prasad to lead Inland Waterways Authority, A K Jha, the new NPC chief

In a major administrative rejig, the government has transferred one secretary and six additional secretary-level officials.

According to a government order issued by the Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC), Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved the appointment of Amita Prasad, a 1985 batch Karnataka cadre officer, has been entrusted with the charges of Inland Waterways Authority of India, which is an arm of Ministry of Shipping.

Similarly, another 1985 batch IES official, Arun Kumar Jha, has been appointed as the Director General of National Productivity Council (NPC).

Other officers who have been entrusted with new responsibilities include Jyoti Arora, a 1987 batch Haryana cadre IAS appointed as Additional Secretary and Financial Advisor in Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology.

Another 1987 batch Odisha cadre IAS, Rajesh Verma has been appointed as Additional Secretary Agriculture Ministry, while Indevar Pandey, a 88 batch West Bengal Cadre IAS has been entrusted with the charges of Additional Secretary, Ministry of Development of North Eastern region.

Bharat Lal, an 88-batch Gujarat cadre forest officer, has been shifted to Jal Shakti Ministry as an additional secretary. Lal was the additional secretary to the President

Shashank Priya, an 88-batch IRS officer, has been appointed as additional secretary & financial advisor in the Commerce Ministry against an existing vacancy.